Our Clerk to Trustees is Judith Geddes. She can be contacted on JGeddes@cheney.oxon.sch.uk

Liz Bell

Liz Tyler - Chair of Trustees. Liz worked for Pearson for 22 years and was responsible for the development of teaching and learning materials for use in UK primary and secondary schools and FE colleges. This involved understanding and interpreting educational policy and the latest research on effective pedagogies in order to create services that support teachers have a greater impact on learners. She has been a secondary school governor in the past.

Bridget - 2016

Dr Bridget Durning is Senior Lecturer in Sustainability in the School of the Built Environment at Oxford Brookes and a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.  She teaches students at all levels in higher education - foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate and also delivers professional development courses.  Bridget has one child who went to Cheney and is currently at University.  Bridget has been involved in School Governance in Oxford for over 16 years with experience from Foundation Stage to Secondary and was Chair of Governors of Cheney School for a number of years.  Bridget was one of the founding directors of the Trust.

Pat O'Shea

Pat O'Shea - Safeguarding Trustee. Pat has spent over 40 years in secondary education, with 16 years in senior leadership of comprehensive schools, including two headships. She has also been a teacher trainer and lecturer at Oxford University, local authority senior adviser, Ofsted inspector and school improvement consultant. In the latter capacity she has worked extensively with Cheney School. Headington is her home, and she is part of a group which aims to promote equality of opportunity, fairness and good practice in Oxfordshire schools. Pat is currently a postgraduate student at Oxford Brookes University.

Ann Childs

Dr Ann Childs is an Associate Professor of Science Education at Oxford University – she has been involved in Science Teaching at the University since 1995. Ann has a degree and PhD in Chemistry from the University of Birmingham and has taught Science in Secondary Schools in the Uk and West Africa for eleven year – 7 of those as a Head of Chemistry and Head of Science. With a keen interest in the teaching of Science, Ann has been involved in the writing of a number of books on the subject.

Jonathan Dawson - Chair of Finance and Resources Committee. Jonathan has over 20-years’ experience leading business transformation, operational excellence and service improvement initiatives to deliver enhanced customer experience and sustainable commercial results for multi-national technology businesses such as BT and Colt.  Jonathan has an MA in Modern History from the University of Oxford and an MBA from Harvard Business School. He is currently also a Family Court Magistrate sitting on the Oxfordshire bench.

Ian Thompson is an Associate Professor of Education at the University of Oxford and PGCE Course Director.  He is currently Vice President of the International Society for Cultural- historical Activity Research and co-editor of the journal Teaching Education. His research focuses on issues of social justice in education, English education, and initial teacher education. His recent research projects include Collaboration for Teaching and Learning, The Effectiveness of Arts Based Approaches in Engaging with Disaffected Young People, and Excluded Lives: Disparities in rates of permanent school exclusion across the UK. He is currently Primary Investigator on the ESRC funded project The Political Economies of School Exclusions and their Consequences.  Ian is author or co-author of the books Tackling Social Disadvantage through Teacher Education, Designing Tasks in Secondary Education: Enhancing Subject Understanding and Student Engagement, and Learning to Teach in England and the United States: The Evolution of Policy and Practice.

Ian previously taught English for 16 years in state secondary schools in England. He was a school governor at Sheldon School in Chippenham from 2005-2011 and a parent of two sons who attended Cheney School.

Linda Earnshaw has worked in secondary education for 27 years including being Head of Mathematics in two schools for a total of 16 years. She is also trained in accountancy and spent 10 years as Financial Director of a Computer Software company in Bath. With an initial involvement in Bayards Primary School as a governor, it seemed a good use of both professional skills of accountancy and education in becoming a Trustee of CSAT.

Maurice East was chair of Governors at Bayards Hill school from 2015 -2021. During that time, he was also safeguarding governor for two years.
From 2014-2018, Maurice was involved in the planning group which supervised the opening of a new school, John Keats Primary school, in Bermondsey. Since the school opened in 2018, Maurice has been Chair of Governors, overseeing the growth of the LGB. Maurice is also involved in the Communitas Education Trust where he operates as one of the Members.
Outside of school life, Maurice is involved in property management and has overseen a number of large-scale renovation projects which involved putting contracts out to tender, liaising with builders, surveyors, engineers and architects as well as organising and running site operations. He also has an MA in International Politics and Strategic Studies.